Privileged

Wednesday January 9

I don’t know if the lack of sleep I’ve had this past week is making me overly emotional but today I sat in Mojo’s and cried while memorizing lines. I cried because the words Rachel was saying was exactly how I feel. Disappointment. Fear. Privileged. And hope, in the midst of everything that is wrong in the world. I just want peace.

Sometimes I get so caught up in my busy life that I forget for a minute that there are people out there whose lives and homes are threatened. I can walk back to my dorm at anytime I please. And then there are other times when I get so angry with people who tell me that working for peace is silly. I think it is silly to not work for peace and pretend like it is ok, because it’s not ok. It’s not ok to push out an entire community of people from their homes. It is not ok to take away drinking water from people when there is a working swimming pool on the other side of the fence. I think it is silly that people sit around and let this messed-up world continue to destruct people.

Rachel Corrie can sum-up how I feel better than I ever could “I can’t believe that something like this can happen in the world without a bigger outcry. It hurts me, again, like it has hurt me in the past, to witness how awful we can allow the world to be. ” I don’t understand why things like this have to happen in the world. I am a sheltered human being. I live in a home where I am taken care of. I believe that peace is the answer, no matter the question. If this makes me a silly and unrealistic person,  then I am silly and unrealistic. But I am trying to crawl out of my comfort zone and show people that my dreams for peace are important, just like everybody in this world is important. Maybe not to you, but they are important to someone in this wide world.

What would happen if everybody tried to live for peace?

 

One thought on “Privileged

  1. The urgency of youth and the stamina of elders — that is why intergenerational relationships are so important. When I was a college freshman (or sophomore?), I was so consumed with the imminent threat of nuclear weapons (remember the Cuban Missile Crisis, October, 1962?). I knew nothing then of the Israel/Palestine issue. Then in 1976 World Hunger dominated my consciousness and drove me into politics, but losing the election brought me back down to earth. Now is it Climate Change or Gun Control or Abolish the Death Penalty or — bring justice to the Middle East? We need to focus to accomplish anything, but we can’t burn out and just choose denial from too much mental anguish. We need to pace ourselves for a marathon, and only sprint in short spurts . . .

Leave a Reply

