Hope

Saturday February 2

I don’t have the words to describe how I feel right now. I don’t even think I really know what I feel. The performance last night was everything I could have wished for. The audience was full of people that I didn’t even know, but who had heard about the show and it’s message and came. For 1 hour and half I was telling Rachel’s story and people were listening. They were laughing with me, crying with me, and were feeling the suffering of every person and family I described over in Israel/Palestine. I am speechless by the performance and the emotions it has brought me. I probably haven’t allowed myself enough time to process this whole project yet because I think I am still in shock. I actually went through with this one-woman show on a broken foot to talk about peace and people actually showed up and listened to what I had to say. And even more than that, people were moved.

I have the best roommates anyone could ask for. Instead of buying me flowers, my roommates got together and collect $110 between all of them and donated it to the CPT (Christian Peacemaker Team) in Hebron, Palestine. I cried, I was so impressed with their thoughtfulness in thinking of a gift so meaningful to me. I love them all for helping me walk this peaceful journey.

For those interested in taking a stand against the illegal settlements being built in Israel/Palestine and destroying countless other homes, please think about joining the Twitter protest now and during the Superbowl. To learn more about this protest checkout  http://www.sodastreamboycott.org/. Join the End the Occupation campaign by signing up for a Twitter account and here to receive the pre written tweet: http://www.endtheoccupation.org/form.php?modin=249. Make a difference tomorrow while watching the game. You too can LIVE for peace!

“If we want hope to survive we’ve got to walk on, walk on”

2 thoughts on “Hope

  1. My wife and came all the way from Andover, to see this show and learn more about Rachel. You did a wonderful job of expressing this young lady’s life and death. I enjoyed the sense of suspense about how the story would be told and you did a great job. The discussion afterwards was also very useful and enlightening.

  2. I was one of those in the audience laughing and crying and feeling the pain you were describing. During the question/answer session, I could not think of a question, but have one now. Rachel said her mom left her spirituality up to her. By her actions, it appears that she was following Jesus. How many of us who profess to follow Jesus have given our life up for others as she and Jesus did? I was wondering if you came across anything in her writings where she had made a commitment or stated her intention to follow Jesus.

Leave a Reply

