The Show Must Go On

Friday January 25

This past Tuesday was my 22nd birthday and I received the news that my ankle is broken. A little bit of a shocker because the two days before my director and I spent our time convincing ourselves that it was not broken and I would be able to walk on it by showtime. Well…the show must go on. And it will, in a boot with some minor limping. As of now I am getting around on crutches and a rolling desk chair made into make-shift wheelchair. The hope is that once the swelling goes down I will be able to walk on it, but only during rehearsals and the performance. The doctor was very understanding of my upcoming performance and put me into a boot so that I will be able to walk for the show. Fingers crossed that the audience won’t even notice I’m in a boot, they’ll just think it’s a new fashion statement I’m trying out! All I can say is stay away from masonite folks, it’s an evil thing!

The biggest impact that my broken foot has had is my inability to help with the set and myself. I am a very independent person and I try not to ask for help whenever physically possible. Looks like I am going to have to overcome that personal feeling pretty fast. Luckily I have a stong group of supports by my side who have helped me in more ways than I can imagine this past week. My mod is about as handicap accessible as it will ever be with a flight of stairs attached to it. The broken foot has slowed me down quite a bit and made me realize again just how lucky I am. It now takes me a good 3 hours to be dressed, fed, and ready-to-go before rehearsal. Luckily, I don’t have morning classes. One of the other struggles I am learning to cope with is the physical exhaustion I feel at the end of the day. Each time I move it is a whole body workout, crutches are getting my arms ripped. My whole body aches from the crutches but my foot itself doesn’t hurt too much, only at night…when I try to sleep.

Today was the first run-through of the whole show without book. I made it, broken foot and all. The lines are there and by the end of the weekend they should come out as if they were my own words. I’m looking forward to this next week of rehearsals as Rachel’s character begins to emerge in more ways than one on stage. They show is really starting to come together!

It’s a little scary knowing that I will be onstage talking for one and half hours, but I know I have a whole team behind me and supporting me. I just need to remember to breathe. By next Friday night I will have something to be proud of, something I will always remember “Hey, remember that onetime I did a one woman show with a broken foot…”  I’m not even too scared of that countdown on my blog anymore, just a little.

I am strong. I am important. I am scared and brave. I have friends and family supporting me. I have a broken foot, but I have two feet. This is Rachel Corrie’s story. She had something to share and I have the ability to share it. I CAN do this.

One thought on “The Show Must Go On

Leave a Reply

